Photo of Lea-Francis P-Type

Lucy Reynolds Herefordshire Trial 2019 BSaturday 16 March saw the running of the annual Vintage Sports Car Club Herefordshire Trial. There were only two Lea-Francis among the entrants, although LFOC Club members were also competing, rather successfully in other cars, both Peter Tierney and Richard Houlgate were running their Austin 7s in the short wheelbase class and secured a 1st and 2nd class award respectively. Simon Bowyer also secured a 1st class award in his Model A Ford running in the long wheelbase class.

On this occasion neither Lea-Francis drivers, Roger Tolson and Lucy Reynolds managed to get into the awards.

The VSCC held its regular New-Year driving tests at Brooklands on 27 January 2019.

There was only a single Lea-Francis competing; the J-Type of Tobias Bruce. It is becoming more and more unusual to see these earlier models of Lea-Francis competing in events, so it is good to see this well known LFOC car being used this way. 

Colin Poynter driving his S Type Lea-Francis at Brooklands June 2018

The Vintage Sports Car Club’s Longstone Speed Championship Trophy is awarded for the person scoring the most points in speed events (sprints and hill-climbs) in a car driven to the events at which it competes. The trophy for the 2018 season has been won by the LFOC Editor and pre 1937 Registrar, Colin Poynter with his S-Type, a 1928 Works TT car, which has been driven on the road to every event in which it has competed in its 90 years.

We know everybody knows websites use cookies, but EU law requires we interfere with your browsing and put a box here so you can tell us you know and permit us to use the cookies so the site functions as it should.
More information Ok